Enjoy the Show

I went grocery shopping this morning. Actually, I entered two grocery stores this morning, which is rare, since I like one-stop shopping. Regardless, it was quite interesting to me that the same song was playing in both of them when I entered.

This song by Lenka, “The Show” has been in my subconscious since I first heard it in the movie Moneyball with Brad Pitt. I really like the way it sounds, as it’s fun and whimsical, and her voice is quite childlike. Anyway, as soon as I came home, I took another listen to see if there was a message in the lyrics for me.

Not sure if God is speaking to me on this one. But I did get some ol’ nuggets of wisdom for the road anyway that I thought I would share here in case you’re wanting to feel inspired.

“Slow it down, make it stop
Or else my heart is going to pop
Cause it’s too much, yeah it’s a lot
To be something i’m not”

This verse sums up why I do what I do. I went into coaching because I want to inspire others to discover and own who they truly are. I lived a life in silence when I worked in the corporate world. Doing what was expected of me. Always taking criticisms like there was something wrong with me. Truthfully, i’m sure there are things that I could have done better or even more tactfully. However, when I realized that I wasn’t expressing who I fully was, it was like the rose-coloured shades were lifted and the feelings of inadequacy and not belonging all made sense. How long will you let other people tell you how to live YOUR life? Is the cost worth it?

“I’m just a little girl lost in the moment
I’m so scared, but I don’t show it
I can’t figure it out
It’s bringing me down
I know, i’ve got to let it go
And just enjoy the show”

What I love about this verse is that it speaks to our “saboteurs” — those voices that reiterate time and time again that you are not good enough, that you could never break out of your comfort zone, that you are not worth it. This is a reality we all deal with at some point…but this verse gives me hope in knowing that you can identify when it’s happening and then CHOOSE to enjoy what’s happening in our lives rather than be defined by it. This is a HUGE step, but it’s worth facing your fears to live the life you were BORN to live, not the one that everyone else has TOLD you to live.

Here’s the video for anyone who hasn’t heard it:

I will end with a little love letter from me to you on why I love coaching. I love coaching because it really allows you to experience all your feelings and craft your life the way you want to live it. I know there are a ton of other methods that can allow you to do this, and I don’t knock anything I haven’t tried, but I would encourage any of you who feel a stuck, like you don’t belong, like you are on the verge of something big but really can’t figure it out or just overwhelmed to seek out a life coach and explore those feelings in order to break free and start to inspire others by living the fearless life you were promised.

Leave a Reply

