I Don’t Know About You, But I’m Feeling 32…

So Taylor Swift is a genius. I can say it. Yes, I borrowed a line from her song ’22’ (and added a decade), but it really has been capturing what I have been feeling for the past few days.

Yesterday, I celebrated my 32nd birthday. It was the first time since I have understood the concept of birthdays that I haven’t really “cared” so much about turning a year older. I started the day off with a great wake up (and gift) from my husband, followed by breakfast with my little sister and then spending the afternoon and evening (including the most indulgent dinner I have ever eaten) with my mom. Then, when I got home, my three year old niece left me a message saying “Happy Birthday Auntie Tara”, which absolutely melted my heart. Add to that over 100 posts on Facebook, a few texts, the coveted call from my best friend and the best acknowledgement email from my coach, it was a good day.

Now, as I reflect on how lucky I am to have such great family and friends, I think about what ‘feeling 32’ means to me. First, it means that getting older is inevitable, and i’m pretty sure that 40 is just around the corner. It means that there are no excuses for not creating the life I want. It means that I have a lot of things that I still want to accomplish and I really need to get my butt in gear to see them all through. But what it really means to me is that I have a responsibility to myself, to my family, to my friends and to my clients to show up. To really show up and be the best person I can be so that the impact I have inspires others to have whatever impact they are tasked with having.

Getting older seems to be the stake in the ground that has been calling me for a while. There is so much that has been stirring in my heart and soul and I am excited to move forward with these things that I have been tasked with. When I step into my power, I am unstoppable. Yet, I sometimes get caught up in believing the things that I cannot achieve, instead of being grateful for the things (and strengths) that I already have.

So what?

Well, the intention I am setting for the next 12 months is to focus on being grateful and doing what I can do every day. It will make for a more positive attitude and keep me in my power.

And just because I can…here’s Taylor singing her hit, ’22’. Don’t hate, she’s awesome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

