Authentically Me. NOW.

It’s amazing what happens when you live in the moment. It occurred to me that when I walk, I am obsessed with looking down on the path, because I don’t want to step on the snails, caterpillars, slugs, or anything else trying to cross the path.

Then I looked up today, and saw the path ahead. What a different view. But what occurred to me is that looking too far ahead doesn’t allow me to live in the moment, it keeps me focused on what’s coming.

Now, I’m not saying you should go through life without a plan and be reckless with today. But there is some amazing realizations that can happen when you dance in the moment. When you allow yourself to be who you are, truly, right now. Not one minute from now, just now.

I realized that I want to be authentic each moment of my life. Authentically me. Authentically true to my values. Authentically outgoing, or authentically quiet…whatever is called for in the moment, that is what I want to be.

So I looked up the word authentic to see what the definition actually is, and here is what came up according to dictionary.com:

au * then * tic [aw-then-tick]
adjective

1. not false or copied; genuine; real
2. having the origin supported by unquestionable evidence; authenticated; verified
3. entitled to acceptance or belief because of agreement with known facts or experience; reliable; trustworthy
4. Law. executed with all due formalities
5. Music
a.  (of a church mode) having a range extending from the final to the octave above
b. (of a cadence) consisting of a dominant harmony followed by a tonic

So I guess number one really applies to what i’m talking about here. We know that there is only one of us, that there is a unique combination of DNA and life experiences and environment that contributes to who we are. Yet many of us continue to copy others in our quest to be successful, liked, or even to feel safe.

I don’t want to live like that. I want to embrace everything that I am. I want to live out loud. I want to live in the now. I want to be an inspiration for others by living as authentically as I can.

So I start now. To be ok with looking down. To be ok with following my gut. To not making excuses or apologies, but to own whatever decisions I make.

Right now, I feel gratitude. I feel peace. I feel like i’m ready.

Who’s with me?

 

 

Leave a Reply

