I Lack Nothing

I woke up tired. This is the way I have been feeling lately when I wake up. I’m not sure where that has come from, but it definitely takes me longer to get on my way. And i’m a morning person!

Anyway, I had the resolve to get up and go for a walk. I haven’t been for a walk in months (I really am starting to not enjoy winter in Canada!), and I haven’t purposefully exercised in months as well. But I really want to start my days off right, and I find that I am more creative with a feeling of accomplishment than not.

So I put on my exercise clothes, drank a glass of water with lemon, put on my runners and I was out the door. And it was cold. The wind was brutal. A constant reminder that it’s still not spring.

I kept going.

I entered the little “forest” that I usually walk in and I started to make promises to myself as my body warmed up. I started to get ideas of what I want to do with my business. I started to think a lot.

I kept going.

I was so into my senses as I looked up and saw the sun shining. I heard the woodpeckers doing their thing. I saw a bunch of birds I rarely get to see enjoying the rays on their feathers. The creek (?) leading into Lake Ontario just flowing. And I was so thankful to be alive, to be able to take in the fact that the earth was perfectly made. Everything is interconnected and we all have exactly what we need to succeed. And this verse entered my mind:

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he refreshes my soul. He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake. (Psalm 23:1-3 NIV)

And there I was, remembering that I lack nothing. That I had the privilege to be walking in a very natural environment, beside the quiet creek, on a path that is already laid out for me.

I smiled. I kept going.

When I reached the lake, it was pretty windy so the waves were pretty big and loud. As I walked and looked and listened, I thought, the waves are doing exactly what they are supposed to do. They adapt to the season, they adapt to what is required of them and they do their job. And I thought of how I was being half-hearted. Of how although I have committed to the life that I want to create, there is still more that I can do.

I smiled. I jogged up the hill.

I got home. I did 50 squats. I had two more glasses of water. I ate an extremely healthy breakfast and I am now writing what is on my heart.

I feel successful.

As long as I continue to base my worth on my obedience, I am good.

I lack nothing. 

I have everything I need inside of me to make a difference. I choose to rely on the Shepherd to lead me, and because of this I know that all I do will be fruitful.

Where can you ask for help today? What can you do to stop the worrying and think in abundance? What do you need to do to take that leap of faith?

You are a wonderful gift. Embrace all of your amazing qualities and be obedient to what is being called of you. Don’t be a re-gifter.

 

Leave a Reply

