It’s All In Your Mind

I came to the realization last week that all self-help books are exactly the same. It wasn’t that I felt like I had wasted my money investing in the books that sit on the shelf, nor did I feel like I was an idiot for buying all of them. What came to me is that I have to stop relying on the words and just start doing.

Duh.

I have written about going outside of your comfort zone. I have written about feeling the fear and doing it anyway. But as I re-read The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, it dawned on me that all of what I was reading was very similar to what I learned in my coaching curriculum at the Coaches Training Institute, and I really need to get off my butt and start doing what I want to create.

Then I got scared.

This fear thing is really powerful. Although I feel like I am moving forward, at the same time I still love the comfort of reading so much. So in addition to pushing myself to go to an amazing networking event last week, I started re-reading Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill.

As I read about the concept of having faith in what you are doing so that you create it in your mind and it becomes a done deal (auto-suggestion), this verse really spoke to me:

“If you think you are beaten, you are,
If you think you dare not, you don’t
If you like to win, but you think you can’t,
It is almost certain you won’t.

“If you think you’ll lose, you’re lost
For out of the world we find,
Success begins with a fellow’s will–
It’s all in the state of mind.

“If you think you are outclassed, you are,
You’ve got to think high to rise,
You’ve got to be sure of yourself before
You can ever win a prize.

“Life’s battles don’t always go
To the stronger or faster man,
But soon or late the man who wins
Is the man WHO THINKS HE CAN!”

Just having these positive thoughts inspires motion. If you believe that it is already a done deal, then you will take every action, every opportunity, every task that will help you get closer to what you believe to already be true. It’s the beginning of the cycle of success.

I am now visualizing so deeply what it is I want. I say it every day. Believing that I already have it spurs me to just DO SOMETHING instead of talking about it so much. It is a work in progress, but as Journey says, “Don’t Stop Believing…”

What is ONE thing you want so bad? Got it? Now keep thinking it, saying it and embodying it. Now what is ONE thing that you will do to get you closer to that goal? More importantly, what is ONE consistent thing you can do every day to get you closer to that goal (think productive, not busy).

Remember, you got this. It’s a done deal. Now go do.

Leave a Reply

