Public Victory = Win/Win

Victory. Such a sweet word. For me, it brings up memories of my softball team (big up Malvern!!), receiving the Rising Star Award at Travelzoo and many the time we won that big client at work. It really is a positively charged word.

However, as I grow up, I realize that those victories – even though they positively impacted my belief in myself – were a win/lose situation. In each every example that I gave above, someone had to lose in order for me to win. It’s not the way that I want to continue my life. I want everyone to win. I want my wins to be a collective win, not grounded in it being only good for me.

As I mentioned a few posts ago, I am currently doing a bible study on getting rid of my reliance on food. As I read a chapter this morning, a very interesting quote caught my eye. Lysa TerKeurst writes, “We were made for more than this. More than this failure, more than this cycle, more than being ruled by taste buds. We were made for victory. Sometimes we just have to find our way to that truth.”

Hmmmmm.

It has occurred to me recently that I have been playing small. That I have accepted a lesser version of who I am because it’s comfortable and well known. That my ‘You’re Not Good Enough’ saboteur continues to be my sidekick and when I am ready to get outside of my comfort zone, she subtly brings me back to accepting that version of myself that is no longer serving me.

Man, the tricks our saboteurs/inner critics play on us. It felt natural, but completely not right. Funny.

The quote by Lysa really reminds me about how it’s already a done deal. And believing in the idea that I am going to be successful, that I am going to touch lots of people’s lives, that I am going to conquer my negative belief system and that I am going to live a healthy and centred lifestyle where my mind, body, soul and heart are aligned, means that I have already won. And that type of winning is a win/win. Stephen R. Covey brilliantly covers this in his book, The 7 Habits for Highly Effective People. He writes, “Public Victory does not mean victory over other people. It means success in effective interaction that brings mutually beneficial results to everyone involved. Public Victory means working together, communicating together, making things happen together that even the same people couldn’t make happen by working independently.”

Victory is nice when it’s shared. When I win in all of these areas, I am only helping others. By living a life that is positive and treating my body like a temple, only positive things will come out, which calls others to do the same. It’s a wonderful cycle that I want to be a part of.

Where can you look for the win/win in your life? Where can you claim the promises made to you that it’s already a done deal – success is ready for you to jump into?

Remember, you’ve got what it takes within you. Claim that wisdom and shine. The world needs you to do just that.

Leave a Reply

