Spring Renewal

“Renewal requires opening yourself up to new ways of thinking and feeling.” – Deborah Day

It’s officially spring according to the calendar. Last week, March 21 ushered in the season many people in Canada (and probably most that are somewhat north of the equator) have been patiently waiting for. The time where the weather will miraculously switch to warmth and sun. (It didn’t happen quite like that, but it seems like the world we live in currently. Sigh.)

For me, the picture is bigger than just the weather. Although spring is not my favourite season (I really am not a fan of rain), I appreciate the signals of new life as the weather warms up. I enjoy seeing the squirrels come out and run in my backyard. I love feeling the sun on me, even when it’s still a bit chilly. It’s an invitation to shed the hibernation feeling, and enter the land of the living again.

As a Christian, the upcoming Easter celebrations remind me of this too. It’s saying goodbye to the old, negative thoughts, helplessness and fear and be reminded that all I need is faith to move forward. Faith will guide me on the path to embrace all that is promised to me in this life.

I’m not sure if the season is what has ignited me to start my own shedding process. Over the past few weeks, I have been feeling the need to shed. To shed my fear and my self-limiting thoughts. To shed my procrastination and negativity. I have been consciously embracing stepping into my fear. Embracing the discomfort of the space outside my comfort zone. It’s a weird, unnatural feeling, but one that becomes more tolerable the more that I step out into it. Having a great support system (my husband, my clients, my coach, my friends) makes this easier (note, I did not say EASY, it’s just a little less hard!). I have big plans, and the only way to get those plans realized is to do them. To take a minimum of one step each day to ensure that I keep momentum towards my goals.

It really is a beautiful thing to feel that I am accomplishing little things. To remind myself that the process is the fun part, the destination is just the icing on the cake. All the growth happens in the process. All the joy, expansion, love, resilience, confidence and magic happens there. And yes, there is a lot of somewhat unfavourable feelings that happen there too, but I have decided that I am changing the meaning of failure to mean growth. Failure to me means that I kept at it, that I need to pivot and that I am one step closer to getting to where I want (and deserve!) to be. It’s a pretty awesome feeling to take back that word.

I didn’t reach my 10 client goal last Friday. But I am at six. Which means that I just have to step it up a notch and do all that I was doing, just harder and in a more authentic, clear way. I know that I am touching lives through what I do and all of the positive feedback I get lets me know that I am on the right path for me. I feel like a butterfly working to get out of the cocoon. I used to crawl. Then I had to sit in the goo of change that is gross and weird and scary. And now i’m fighting to get out to OWN that butterfly that I know I was born to be. I claim that life. I claim the renewal that is happening to me and I cannot wait to see what actually happens when I fully spread my wings to fly!

What can you renew in your life today? What is ONE step that you can take today that will help you start the momentum towards your goals? Where can you give yourself permission to fail/laugh at yourself?

Leave a Reply

