Discomfort in Fear? Bring It!

Circles. They never end. They continue on an arc and then continue more on an arc. I see them everywhere – my wedding ring, my earrings, the car steering wheel…they really are everywhere.

I found myself in a circle yesterday afternoon. A circle of completion while I was assisting the Fundamentals Course run by the Coaches Training Institute all weekend. The circle of completion is a place where all can speak their mind about what they need to say to be “complete”. It really is a beautiful experience as it allows you to get whatever you need to off your chest (even if it’s just saying “I am complete”).

As I sat in the circle, I noted how I came full circle with assisting with one person who was my assistant when I was a student in Fundamentals. I came full circle through actually getting to know another assistant that I had connected with before I started my Co-Active coaching journey. I became an actual colleague with a Co-Leader that was my leader when I was a student in Fundamentals. It became clear to me that as you redesign your relationships, it’s just like starting another cycle on the circle that is brighter, more fulfilling and true to who you are. Support and love is all I felt, and I am so grateful to have had that experience of never ending stories…stories that will morph and grow and slow and quicken…stories that will continue to contribute to who I am in the perspective of learning.

I learned a lot about myself over the past three days. I was rocked this weekend. I didn’t realize how much I was standing in fear. Fear of the unknown. Fear of the future. Fear of things out of my control. Fear of obstacles that I had made up in my mind. And I was called out about it in front of everyone – the exact kick I needed to embrace that the impact I want to make NEEDS me to BE comfortable in my fear.

That is scary in itself. Let me take that in for a second. (second) Eek.

I want that for my clients. I want them to feel the fear and do it anyway. I want them to live beautiful, love-filled, bright lives where they accept who they are, just live in the BE of who they are, and impact others with their stories, strength and love. How can I expect that from others if I haven’t been doing that myself?

Preach. I am the pillar of light that shines to inspire others to discover and own who they truly are.

One of my inner critics just said, “Uh huh? I don’t think so.” Ouch.

Despite the voices that continue to try to knock me down, I’ve got to remember that, “Ain’t nobody gonna break-a my stride, ain’t nobody gonna hold me down, oh no, I got to keep on moving…” I’ve got to remember that ESPECIALLY if that person holding me back is ME.

My stretch is going to be in moving in the fear. My stretch is feeling uncomfortable in the fear. My stretch is a continual push in the uncertainty and just BEING while DOING.

So I ask you. What are you doing to stretch yourself? What are you doing to improve your skills? Leave a comment below, I’d love to hear what’s going on in your circles.

Leave a Reply

