Choose Your Mood

When it comes to movies that are currently playing, i’m not so up-to-date on what’s happening. I don’t like big crowds and when things are really hyped up, I have this mentality that I want to prove the hype wrong (I know it’s completely silly!). Plus, I would much rather read the book.

However, this past Saturday, I asked my husband if he wanted to go (he LOVES going to the movies), and we decided on Silver Linings Playbook with Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper. It’s been out for quite a while, but since it was just nominated for multiple Oscars and won some Golden Globes, everyone had the same idea we had and the theatre was packed.

The movie was alright. Again, this is just one lady’s opinion. I still have a problem seeing Bradley Cooper as anything but the obnoxious asshole in Wedding Crashers (although I was convinced that he did a great job in the film). Yeah, just alright.

However, what I loved about the film was the idea about silver linings. The idea that happiness can be wherever you look, as long as you have a great perspective that serves you to be better than you are. The idea that there is always something positive in negative experiences, and that you have the choice to feel whatever/however you want to feel.

You have a choice. Yeah, I said it.

One of my favourite scenes in the movie sums this up so beautifully. Someone says that certain people around are crazy. Then Bradley Cooper says something to the effect of, “Maybe we just know something you don’t.” It really stuck out for me because we are so quick to judge others based on this non-existent scale of normal. Normal is a relative term. So is sanity. One character had a job, wife and a kid, and lived in a beautiful home, but he kept mentioning that his wife was overbearing and his job was causing him to suffocate. Yet most people would say that’s normal. Get my point? The “crazy” guy choose to live his life in a way that treated his body like a temple and didn’t do things that would put him in harm’s way. Sounds pretty backwards to me.

I had a hard time watching this movie without my life coach hat on. It wanted to help the characters in the movie. I even thought of powerful questions that I wanted to ask and how I could help him find a structure that would help the main character with his struggles. It reminded me of how important my career choice really is to those who need my help.

Here are a few questions for you to ponder: Where can you let a non-serving perspective go? What is one thing that you can do today to make happiness a choice in your life? What would you like your ‘normal’ to look like?

As always, I would love to hear what is going on with you, so feel free to leave a comment below if you have some major insight you would like to share. As well, if anything I wrote above feels true and you would like to explore what a life coach can help you with, feel free to drop me a note on that as well.

 

Leave a Reply

