What’s Your Dream?

I’m a bit late today. The second inauguration of President Obama was yesterday. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. day was yesterday. I didn’t even really know that it was those days (working from home really makes you lose your concept of days of the week), until I realized that Young and the Restless was being pre-empted for coverage. 🙂

Anyway, as I watched Obama’s speech, I couldn’t help but think that I was witnessing history, something I would be able to tell people in the future. That I was there when all of this happened.

I also couldn’t help but think that all of this is possible because of dreams. Because people before him stood up and said “Enough!” Because change happens slowly, but is always started by people who believe and deserve something better.

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. said “I have a dream.” It occurred to me that it really is as simple as that. There is nothing wrong with dreaming. Dreaming is the catalyst to a better future. People follow leaders because of their dreams. They see possibilities in the seemingly impossible and put themselves behind a goal that is bigger than themselves.

I know I didn’t believe that Obama was going to win in 2008. I didn’t think that the United States was ready for a black president. I am glad that people before me and my neighbours south of me had the vision to stand behind him and fight for the belief that it is possible. That the people before him didn’t die in vain.

I’m inspired by dreams and possibilities. I believe in happy endings. I want everyone in this world to feel love. To be the change they want to see in the world. I want people to know that self-limiting talk is just that – talk. It’s a big task, but I know I don’t want to be part of the status quo again the next time I stare history being made in the face. I want to be part of the movement of believers and change. I am grateful that I can always learn and grow and realize that I can inspire.

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. had a dream that was part of a movement that helped propel the reality we live today. What is your dream today? What will you do today to take one step toward that dream? Who will you tell about it to make it real? Who will you enrol in your cause?

Life is too short to sit on the sidelines. Make something happen. Start dreaming today.

One thought on “What’s Your Dream?

Leave a Reply

