Oh, The Places You’ll Go!

“Congratulations! Today is your day. You’re off to great places! You’re off and away! You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the guy who’ll decide where to go.” – Dr. Seuss (from Oh, The Places You’ll Go!)

Oh, The Places You'll Go

Oh, The Places You’ll Go

Last weekend I went through an amazing, expanding experience and finally got in touch with a few things that I had pressed down in the pit of my heart. Things I had forgotten about because they hurt me. Things that I can attribute to many of the traits I currently possess that are not my finest qualities. It was uncomfortable and messy and full of tears. But the journey I took alongside my fellow coaches brought me to a place of awareness and deep love.

I didn’t know that this next chapter in my life would enrich my life so deeply and be the catalyst to me honouring my values and living out my life purpose. I didn’t know that becoming a life coach would allow me to bring my crap and get rid of it for the benefit of my future clients.

I am learning to bless my mess.

A year ago, I didn’t even know this wonderful career and vocation (life coaching!) existed. A year ago, I had no idea what a life coach was, let alone know that I was going to jump in and be one. However, a year ago, I was on a plane destined for my premiere bucket list destination – India – and I knew that it would change my life. As I look at it now, that plane represents me shedding my anger and fear and embracing the excitement of the unknown ahead.

365 days ago, I was close to being burnt out. 365 days ago, I remember I had to train two newly hired people to do the job that I was doing all alone for the previous 6 months. 365 days ago, I remember being angry that I had to “tell” my boss that I was going because otherwise he wouldn’t have let me go. 365 days ago, I was not in a good place.

What a difference a year makes.

In 365 days, I discovered my life purpose (as it stands right now). In 365 days, I learned that following your dreams brings a lot of detractors and naysayers and dream crushers. In 365 days, I learned that I want to be the change that I want to see in the world. In 365 days, I learned that love is all we need. In 365 days, I learned how to let go and rely on others. In 365 days, I learned how to speak my husband’s love language (acts of service) fluently. And in 365 days, I learned that with God, all things are possible.

And most importantly, I learned to feel again. I remembered that it is ok to cry. I remembered that it is ok for other people to cry. That giving back and supporting others from a place of love is the most important thing I can do with my life. That being a leader means to stand up and fill the void that I currently see. That failure is just a stepping stone to achieving my possible. That love conquers all, and that I have so much love in my heart that it overtakes my whole chest. And that wearing my heart on my sleeve is a strength, not a weakness.

I cry as I write this, not because I am sad, but because I am allowing my body to feel whatever it needs to. It’s a completely opposite feeling of my default anger feeling that would come up more often than not a year ago. As I see this evolution happening, I am amazed at the change that has occurred in my life and I am ecstatic that I am open to this change. I am also excited to see what’s coming in 2013.

I ask you: What small change can you start doing today so that a year from now you can be closer to who you want (and who the world needs you) to be? A year from now, you will wish you have started today!

So, in the words of Dr. Seuss:

“And will you succeed? Yes! You will, indeed! (98 and 3/4 percent guaranteed). KID, YOU’LL MOVE MOUNTAINS! So…be your name Buxbaum or Bixby or Bray or Mordecai Ali Van Allen O’Shea, You’re off to great places! Today is your day! Your mountain is waiting. So…get on your way!”

Leave a Reply

