Measure in Love.

“525,600 minutes. 525,000 moments so dear. 525,600 minutes. How do you measure, measure a year? In daylights? In sunsets? In midnights? In cups of coffee? In inches? In miles? In laughter? In strife? In 525,600 minutes, how do you measure a year in the life? Measure in love! Measure in love! Measure in love! Measure in love. Seasons of love.” – from the song “Seasons of Love” from the musical RENT, written by Jonathan Larsen

There’s something wrong in the world. I’m sure I could argue that there are tons of things wrong in the world. That would be an extremely long blog post.

Instead, i’m going to talk about one thing that is on my mind and that is not sitting idle.

Since I have been working from home, I haven’t been up to date on the news. So when my brother and mom told me about the horrific rape in India, I was a bit behind. And was ashamed that I was. Something that horrible should have pierced through all of the Facebook and twitter posts I read, no? Guess we are all too focused on ourselves.

Anyway, as I started to read more about it, my initial reaction was to turn away. To stop reading. To return to my cozy, warm, abundant life and tell myself that she was someone in a faraway country. That always makes it easier. It’s not personal.

I forced myself to stare. 

Then I remembered my trip to India, a mere 11 months prior. I remember how much I didn’t like Delhi. How much I thought it was a place where people try to take advantage of you. Where I didn’t feel safe. Where I was overwhelmed and scared sometimes. Where there is a female-only car on the subway, just so that women can be safe from groping or worse.

Then I felt bad.

I felt bad because I am reading with tears, but that isn’t going to bring India’s Jyoti Singh Pandey back. Nothing will bring her back. But it’s important for us to have her live on so that other women do not have to endure this type of crap.

Live on through not accepting nonsense. Live on through building up women, not tearing them down. Live on through supporting those you know who have lost loved ones. Live on through love.

One of my favourite songs is “Seasons of Love” from the musical RENT.  It outlines that you should measure your life in love. That all of the other things that you do are irrelevant. I know that many people are trying to bring that message of love to everyone. I follow quite a few people on twitter who are doing just that.

So I encourage you today to act in love. Before you think or say something, reflect on whether or not it comes from a place of love. Before you enter into an argument, keep yourself calm and fight the facts, not the people. Where can you share your gift of love today? Can you give to a charity? Can you volunteer your time? Can you help your elderly neighbour shovel their driveway?

Change can happen with love. Let’s inspire others around us to love, and hopefully that love reaches India, and other places where there is inequality and hatred so that we can see change to protect and to cover and to love.

There is an amazing Facebook status that is going around about sharing a gift with 5 people that respond to the following post:

“When I first saw this 2013 Pay-It-Forward post I was less than enthusiastic. And then I watched myself making spontaneous pay-it-forward gestures. The e-mail is a powerful structure for generating generosity. So come join me! The first 5 people to comment on this status will receive from me, sometime in the next calendar year, a gift from my heart: perhaps something handcrafted, a book, a poem, a candle — a surprise! Those same five people must make the same offer in their FB status. If you comment, you really need to do it, so only comment if you want to play along. Hope you do!”

I encourage you to share and to remember to do something for others daily. If you do, share what you did below! I would love to hear what amazing things you are putting out in the world.

2 thoughts on “Measure in Love.

Leave a Reply

