Believe in Possibilities

I went to Apple Creek Seventh Day Adventist Church this morning. I don’t usually go on Saturday as I am not a Seventh Day, but as it’s my husband’s church, I do accompany him sometimes. I always find that the days I go, God really gets something across to me that has been on my mind for a while.

The theme of today’s sermon was “The Christian’s Manifesto” and was inspired by the scripture found in Romans 12:1-5. The line I liked best was “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. (v2)” Pastor Martin talked about putting only good things in your body, and clearing your mind of bad thoughts. Making sure that you keep good beliefs and positive things in your mind. He mentioned that if you are talking with someone but inside you really dislike them or don’t want to talk to them, they can feel it – they can see it in your eyes and body language.

So true.

Where does this come from? Well, I think verse 3 says it best: “For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: DO not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you.” 

Amen.

We have become self-centered. We think a lot about what we want and ignore what other people need. We will so easily spend on frivolous things and walk past someone (with no remorse or a care in the world) who could use that change we spent on a really indulgent treat. We worry about things that are out of our control and we then use those reasons to justify mean actions.

No one is perfect. I’m not suggesting that I am. But that sermon was a huge wake up call for me about where I spend my energy and my focus, and what garbage is going in my body, mind and soul and coming out to others in non-serving ways.

I decided today that my body is a temple. I have been working really hard at getting to an ideal weight through eating better and exercising, to reading books consistently, to reducing television watching and spending more time showing love. It has been a struggle. What I realized today is that all of the external that I want to do – starting a charity, being the best life coach I can be, volunteering, spreading love, being the light I want to see in the world – is reliant on those things. I need to make sure that I am nourishing my body, mind and soul with positive things so that what comes out is a true reflection of love and health inside. Practice what I preach. Live how I want others to live. Having a higher purpose is my why. It gives me a reason to solider on.

You know, you might not subscribe to reading the bible or believing in God. You might also think that eating at McDonald’s once in a blue moon is ok (God knows that I did once upon a time). I guess we are all entitled to our opinion. What I would like to ask is that you try on another perspective: we reap what we sow. What do you want to reap today? What type of impact do you want to leave?

We are only here for a short time, and in that time I hope that you will consider possibly leaving the world better than when you entered it.

Believe in possibilities. Treat others how you want to be treated. But start with doing that for yourself. It will become a lot easier to share that with others.

2 thoughts on “Believe in Possibilities

  1. Such an incredible blog! Fantastic work, and I’ll look forward to reading your blog and being an avid follower! The World needs more of this 🙂 If you get the chance please stop by blog talk2thetrainer.com, its a great free resource to everything Health and fitness related! Enjoy your day!

    Keith-

Leave a Reply

