Plan to Achieve

For Christmas, my dad bought me and each of my siblings the Heart & Stroke Foundation calendar lottery. The idea is that every day there are multiple draws to win a minimum of $25 up to $100,000 every day/month. I looked at it and I undoubtedly believe that I will win – I mean, there are at least 365 chances, those are pretty good odds, right?

I love my dad’s gift. Not only is it fun to check every day, he also helped a good cause.

There are many people that buy lottery tickets (I do too sometimes!) that just wait for the big one. It’s fun to dream about what you would do with a big jackpot. I know i’ve sat around with friends and family and just talked about how I would quit my job without notice, then go travelling for a long time. It’s nice to think that all of your ‘problems’ could be over in a heartbeat if the powers that be would just pick your numbers. It’s nice to dream.

Problem is that it lacks a plan. You are not proactive when you wait for the cards to fall where they may. You are passive and just letting life happen to you.

We are all born with unique gifts to share. I believe that these gifts can change the world. Furthermore, I believe that my gifts will build a life where I don’t need to win the lottery, because i’ll make my own success. I believe in happy endings because I believe that I can (and am) the change I want to see in the world.

I just read two of Seth Godin’s books, Linchpin and Purple Cow. I highly recommend both because they talk about standing out and being different, not just another cog in the wheel. We are meant for so much more than pushing paper and working ridiculous hours while feeling angry and resentful. You can be more than that. You’ve got it all inside you.

So what do you want? Where do you want to be 20 years from now? 10 years from now? 5 years from now? A year from now?

Got it? Good. Now write it down and start writing goals around reaching your possible.

Will you do one thing towards making that happen? Will you make one decision today to put the wheel in motion for your successful future? I would love to hear about it in the comments – writing it down for others to see makes it real (you’ve just made yourself accountable!).

Please do it. Your future self will thank you.

Leave a Reply

