Change is a Lifestyle

You see that a person is considered righteous by what they do and not by faith alone. – James 2:24 (NIV)

Well, it’s a new year. It’s interesting to me that we put all of our eggs into one basket for new starts in December. We struggle with trying to pick things that we should change, we decide it’s the time of year to reach out to loved ones, as well as those who need a helping hand. We actually start smiling at others and saying things like “Merry Christmas” and “Happy Holidays”. Then a few days into the new year, it all goes to hell. It’s cold, the Christmas trees and Hanukkah menorahs are down, the wreaths and holly have been put away and we forget that resolutions and being nice is a lifestyle, not just a shot in the bucket.

Lifestyle. It can be a scary word. For me, it brings up thoughts of change, that what i’m doing right now is not good enough, that I need to be living like successful people. That I need to follow the advice of all of those who made it before me and follow in their footsteps. Which isn’t necessarily a bad idea. I guess the downside is that I could potentially get stuck in living a shadow of someone else’s life instead of forging my own.

I freed myself this December. I decided to create. Create my own path. Read the books I want to read. Write the things I want to write. I committed to mastering my craft (coaching). I launched my own web site. I committed to a speaking engagement. I solidified four clients for my business. I work out a minimum of three times a week. That freedom that I felt was initially extremely satisfying and brought on feelings of happiness and confidence.

Now, I feel fear. A deep rooted fear. I know it’s my saboteur(s) talking (Saboteur: (noun) A person who engages in sabotage. And yes, you have them too. You know those voices in your head that say you’re not good enough? Say hello to your saboteur(s).) but it doesn’t erase the fact that those feelings are there, and real. Many books/people say that you should just ignore it. I think you should embrace it – not the crappy feelings, but to figure out what is causing it so you can appreciate it and then move on. I am scared to do this on my own. I am scared that i’ll fail. I’m scared that people won’t like what i’m offering.

What can I appreciate about this? That I am doing it on my own. It’s the first time I have had to do anything on my own and push pretty far out of my comfort zone. I am excited to see the new and improved Tara that comes out on the other side.

My 2013 includes a lifestyle that says YES to me. To loving more. To laughing more. To helping more. To mastering my craft. To reading more. To including health as a daily thing. To start with gratitude. I agree, some of these things are a bit vague, but what I love about them is that I measure it by how I feel and how the people around me feel and react. If I get angry or sad reactions, I’m not living up to my YES.

What can you say yes to? I challenge you to commit to one thing this year. Then I challenge you to do one thing to make sure you are living up to it every day. Don’t make this chance at another year useless. Don’t do the same thing over and over again expecting a different result.

Post what you want to change below! The most powerful thing you can do to change is write it down….trust me, i’ll keep you accountable.

Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “Change is a Lifestyle

  1. Pingback: Do One Thing Each Day That Scares You…. | Eradica

  2. Pingback: What is Lifestyle, Anyway? | The Cranky Giraffe

Leave a comment