Give thanks with a grateful heart

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” – Marianne Williamson

I went through an intense weekend of class #2 in my life coaching training. Intense is probably not even a strong enough word to describe what the heck I went through. I dealt with a lot of negative things in the form of my saboteurs (saboteur = negative, self limiting beliefs that arise when you are stepping out of your comfort zone) and I really felt like crap. Exhausted. Scared. Sad.

But we were also able to work on ways to combat these inner voices, including a really great exercise that allowed me to hone in on the first draft of my life purpose statement, a reminder of what I was put on this earth to do and share with others.

My statement as it stands right now on Tuesday, November 20, 2012 is as follows:

I am the pillar of light that shines to inspire others to discover and own who they really are. 

What I find extremely amazing about this statement for myself is that in order to do this effectively, I also have to discover and own who I really am. To be an inspiration to others, I have to work on myself so that I can be that light. Not to be thrown into the shadows by negative self talk. Although it can sound quite appealing to be let of the hook when your inner voice says that you should take it easy. The quote above really helped to remind me that I do have a purpose here, as well as a responsibility to be the best I can be.

I got a lot of deep learnings from this past weekend which I will share with you now:

1. Dream big. Now dream bigger.

2. I decide how radiant my light shines.

3. Be kind.

4. Don’t apologize for being who you are.

5. When the saboteur rears its ugly head, chances are you are on the verge of something really big.

6. Follow your intuition.

7. Set S(pecific) M(easurable) A(ttainable) R(ealistic) T(ime-bound) Goals

8. Be open with people. It invites them to be open right back.

9. People are naturally creative, resourceful and whole.

10. Listen. I mean really listen.

11. Give thanks with a grateful heart.

It seems that due to the upcoming U.S. Thanksgiving holiday, there are a lot of reminders about being thankful for what you have. I am reminded through all of this that gratitude really is a state of mind, and a lifestyle. Being thankful changes your mood/state instantly, and opens up space for you to receive, and to share.

Today I am thankful for my husband, being alive to see another day, the food I am able to eat, the house I am able to live in, my gift of time, going to bible study tonight with one of my friends, getting my first paying client as a real, bonafide life coach (I stepped into owning that this weekend!!), my family and friends and books.

Knowing these things allows me to know where I want to focus on things in my life. Really focus on what I want. So what do YOU want? It may help by starting with what you are thankful for.

And if you would like to work through some exercises that will help you get clear on what you want and how to get there, I would be more than happy to chat with you – contact me here.

Would love to hear about it below! Have a wonderful, blessed day.

Leave a Reply

