Do or Do Not. There is No Try.

I always wondered why somebody didn't do something about that, then I realized I am somebody“When women are empowered, everyone wins.” – Marie Forleo

I wanted to do a quick post regarding an amazing movement called Half the Sky. It started as a book that has now turned into a documentary and movement to help turn oppression into opportunity for women.

I watched the first two hours last night on PBS (you can catch the last two hours tonight at 9 PM ET on PBS, or you can also get some clips at the Half the Sky website), and in addition to being upset, angry, sad, I was also moved. Moved to get off my a$$ and do something. Moved to stop talking and start doing. Ready to make that change!

This may not be the charity or movement for you, and by no means is this knocking any other amazing charities that are out there. But if you are feeling that it’s not, what I would like is for you to be moved to whatever is close to your heart, your passion, your life and DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. Share it on facebook or twitter. Tell a friend. Support a charity. Raise funds and do a 5K. Forego your birthday present and donate money you receive to charity. Volunteer. Just put a stake in the ground and do it!

Everyone making small movements contributes to a large wave. We in the developed world that have access to things like freedom, shelter, safety, food and education have to speak up for those who don’t have those things…for those who are willing to die for those things.

So what are you going to do today to make a difference? What are you going to commit to and really make that change?

I committed to sharing this with my network, and want to do some fun fundraising/awareness event before the end of the year! As that comes together, i’ll share here.

Share what you’re going to do below. Don’t just try to do it – that implies a plan b. Just DO IT!

4 thoughts on “Do or Do Not. There is No Try.

  1. Love your passion and energy in this post! I remember when I first read the book Half the Sky. As an undergrad Women’s Studies major, I’m sad to say that I wasn’t shocked in the least by the injustices faced by women and girls around the world. Since then I’ve been active in helping try to reverse some of the racism and sexism so prevalent in our world – through volunteering, youth work, and even my blog – which tackles issues of sexism and racism right here in the good ol’ USA!

    • Yes, thank you for sharing your insights with the world. It is a shame that we are not shocked…but it’s good to know there are people out there doing something! I acknowledge you for volunteering and sharing your thoughts. Need to be aware before you can act! You are a blessing.

  2. Didn’t realize Half the Sky is a documentary!! I adored that book!
    Hey you should look at Kiva =D awesome + easy ways to make microfinance loans!
    And to look back at all off the opportunity one can help enable, if ever in need of a dash of seretonin, through a personal lender page, including the link to mine here =D: http://www.kiva.org/lender/natalializon
    Thanks for the awesome coaching Friday btw! Still working on implementing me homework heh….see you Monday!!!

    • Hey Natalia,
      Thanks for the comment! I really appreciate you reading! I actually do know about Kiva…I haven’t given yet, as I do give to a lot of other charities, but I know the story of the founder and it is quite inspiring! Good for you for helping! See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

