Show Me Love

I love my life and the ones in it.

Show Me Love

“Love is a many splendored thing…” – Paul Francis Webster

This is from a song written in the 1950s. I first heard it in one of my favourite movies, Grease, but as I looked up it’s origins today, I learned that it was in many movies and TV shows in its time.

As I took a walk this morning, I was thinking about love. How it’s such a nice feeling and how it’s awesome to be loved, but that we should bring love back to being a verb, to love.

Yesterday was my birthday and I am now thirty-onederful ūüôā What I am always amazed with is how people show you how much they care on your birthday. How they take the time to call you, text you, write on your wall…and I was reminded again that I am truly blessed. Even people that are not really up-to-date on my day-to-day life still take the time to say Happy Birthday and wish me well.

That’s what is missing from our day-to-day. Unconditional love. Love that is purely given, that is given with no strings attached. I took the liberty of looking up the definitions of these words for reference:

un¬∑con¬∑di¬∑tion¬∑al¬†adjective¬†\ňĆ…ôn-k…ôn-ňądish-n…ôl, -ňądi-sh…ô-n…ôl\

1: not conditional or limited

love¬†verb¬†\ňąl…ôv\ (please note, I took the verb definition for my blog)

1: to hold dear : cherish

2:¬†a¬†:¬†to feel a lover’s passion, devotion, or tenderness for;¬†b¬†(1)¬†:¬†caress¬†(2)¬†:¬†to fondle¬†amorously¬†(3)¬†:¬†to copulate with

3: to like or desire actively : take pleasure in <loved to play the violin>

4: to thrive in <the rose loves sunlight>

In the world that we live in, there is a lot of emphasis on ME. A lot of take and receiving. Which is definitely easier to do. In the corporate world, this is pervasive – always looking out for numero uno. Not usually going above and beyond because “i’m not paid what i’m worth,” or “I worked extra yesterday,” or “My boss doesn’t work hard.” There are a myriad of other reasons that we play the victim with – to give the control over to others so that we absolve responsibility. But what if we were to change our thoughts around that? What if we were to make a paradigm shift and just share and give unconditionally? That you went above and beyond to help because you can? That you can listen to someone’s troubles because they need a shoulder to cry on? That instead of focusing on what others do wrong to you, you can focus on what you can do to change the relationship (which usually is just loving them)?

I was reminded of this on my current re-reading of The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People¬†by Stephen Covey (RIP). If you haven’t read this book, please do. The concepts are so simple…not always easy to implement, but simple to comprehend. To steal from his wisdom, all you can do is change what you can control, and that is what you should focus on. If you’re in a place where you are not feeling love, then show more love – I guarantee it will come back to you.Shower love on those in your life. Show them you care. This can all start with a simple good morning or ¬†please and thank you. You don’t have to agree with everything that everyone in your life says and you are more than entitled to get upset every once in a while. But instead of reacting in a non-flattering and mean way, try love. I promise you that you will receive something back that is more powerful than money, and that will help you in the long run.

Where can you show more love in your life? Can you smile? Can you say hello? Can you help out your coworker with a project they are struggling with? Can you just call someone really important to you and say “I love you” and really mean it? Do something to show love today and then share it with me in the comments! Let’s inspire others to break down their walls and to open their hearts to pay it forward.

4 thoughts on “Show Me Love

  1. You’ve nailed it! I especially love and agree with your statement “If you’re in a place where you are not feeling love, then show more love.” As difficult as that feels in the moment, it is truly the way to go. Life gives you what you put out. Who wouldn’t want that to be love? Thanks for sharing! Sending you love today.

    • Thanks so much Jen!! It’s so true that we have to look inside before we blame others. I’m inspired by you sending love today, thank you so much for reading and commenting!

  2. Pingback: Birthday Greetings – Thoughts on Life « Ed Robinson's Blog

  3. Pingback: Make that change! « Achieve Your Possible

Leave a Reply

