Happy New Year!

Asking Why is the most simple and powerful act of connecting that you can make. There is a lesson behind everyone’s motivations that can affirm your sensibility, shatter your beliefs, or spark your next Big Thing. – Danielle Laporte (You should definitely follow this girl if you are a creative soul – her daily truthbombs are so….so….true. 🙂 Check out her post on the quote above here.)

Happy Monday. I hope that yours is happy no matter where you are and what you are doing. It’s a beautiful day in Toronto and i’m full of gratitude that I woke up today, that I had the ability to take my walk, that I was able to have a great weekend and meet up with a ton of my friends and family. I really am blessed.

Why am I writing today? Well, i’m glad you asked! It’s the countdown to my new year. No, i’m not Jewish (but happy new year to all of my Jewish friends reading this), but I am turning 31 in two days. Eek. To think that I have almost lived a full 31 years on this planet. Just another reason that I am blessed.

I always look at September as my new year. School starts, my birthday happens…there is something renewing about those things for me. This year, I am actually starting school again (life coach training starts on Friday!!) and my birthday is on Wednesday. So i’ve got a lot to celebrate (and I did on Saturday – thanks to those who spent some time with me).

This brings me to some thoughts around what I have done in the past 365 days, and what I am going to do with the next 365. The last year has been full of ups AND downs. Looking back, it seems like a lot more downs – it was a really tough year for me as I was really trying to figure out what I wanted out of life, and how I was going to get there. As I mentioned to my life coach, it’s hard when you are going through that tunnel and you see that light at the end, and you know you will get there…but getting through the setbacks and obstacles and challenges is the hard part.

The good news is that I have really honed in on what I want to do and who I want to reach/help as I build my life coaching practice. The bad news is that I am still not as focused as I would like. Which is just another thing I need to improve. Which is not a bad thing. Failure is just learning, it’s not the end of the world. Say it with me: It’s going to be alright (don’t be afraid to believe it, ’cause it’s true if you do).

Over the past few weeks I have been feeling the selfishness that comes out in a society like ours. Where people are so concerned about things and stuff, and less concerned about people and how they are treated. I don’t want to live my life like that. I want to help people achieve their possible, which can just be a simple good morning or a congratulations or a dollar to the homeless person you pass on the street. We need to build people up, not tear them down (if you want to read about paying attention and being nice, read my blog post, Don’t Step on the Snails).

Which brings me to how I want to spend the next 365 days. My ‘why’. I want to let people know that they are worth it. That they can make a difference. That they can achieve anything they want to because the world really is their oyster. So that they in turn can pay it forward and inspire someone else. Change can happen with one person – and the world will be a better place if everyone was just nice. This means that I need to get my sh!t together and really make my dreams happen so that I can get to inspiring and paying it forward.

So my new year’s promise (resolution is too final – it sounds like you have to resolve something) to me is that I will take at least one step every day to build a life that puts me first, a position that allows me to help others (there is a reason that on airplanes they tell you to put your oxygen mask on first – if you’re passed out you can’t help others, can you?). That includes steps toward a healthy lifestyle, a spiritual life, a thriving business with lots of connections, a passionate marriage and saying good morning, please and thank you.

I like things that are simple. They may not be easy, but at least living a healthy lifestyle is something that is achievable for me. It’s not pressure on reaching an number for the scale, it’s little things like drinking more water each day, being active for at least 30 minutes, not watching as much TV – that’s doable.

I still have to break these into goals and action steps, but i’m happy to know i’m on the right path and that these things all complement my quest to be an amazing life coach .

What can you do to start moving in the direction you want? Figure out your why and then follow your heart. Your intuition most often than not points you down the right path. Share what small step you can do in the comments, I would love to hear what you are up to!

 

Leave a Reply

