Take One Step. Momentum Follows.

“What will this day be like? I wonder. What will my future be? I wonder.” – Richard Rodgers from the song I Have Confidence from The Sound of Music

I woke up this morning after a pretty doubt-filled week and looked at the clock. Due to the change in my routine, I am getting up way later, and it has instilled a feeling of laziness that i’m really not used to.

I have been telling myself that I need to get up and exercise. Start the day off right. Robin Sharma said at a conference I attended last year that successful people get up at 5 AM to get their stuff done. And i’ve been telling myself that I was going to get up earlier and go for a walk every morning for a while now. But as I look at the clock every morning, I always say tomorrow.

This morning was tomorrow. And I’m so glad that I got out of bed, got dressed and walked out the door. I took one step. And then I took another step. And another. And before I knew it I had gathered some momentum. And it was just the jolt I needed to get out of my funk. Tony Robbins says that in order to get out of your mood, just get moving. It works.

So it’s 10:11 AM and what have I done today? Done my body good by going for a walk and when I reached the beach and I saw the sun shining on the water on a perfect temperature morning (at least for me – I LOVE autumn!), I said a prayer of gratitude (i’m alive, I can walk with no pain, I have a beach near my house…I have a house….and the list goes on). I then discovered a new walking trail, said good morning to everyone I met (I got 9 good morning’s back out of 10 – not bad) and chatted with my neighbour and learned more about him. And now i’m writing this blog.

I feel like I have had a pretty productive morning. And it’s all because I took one step.

It’s really easy to play the victim. It’s easy to blame others for how you feel, relying on others’ words to decide if you are going to be happy or sad or angry or defeated, then blaming them for where you are in life. I’m here to tell you that behaviour like that doesn’t help anyone, especially you. While you’re playing the victim, they are living their life, and I can guarantee that they are not even thinking about you.

So where in your life can you take a first step? What have you been putting off in your life that you can finally undertake? It can be as small as cleaning that closet you have been putting off for a while. It can be as big as finally getting a start on writing out that dream that has been on your mind for years. But whatever it is, get started. Momentum will help drive your dreams and passions to the next level. But you have to start with one step.

I’m hoping that this blog post will help inspire you to move forward. I would love it if you would be willing to share what you are going to take on as well. Let’s keep each other accountable!

6 thoughts on “Take One Step. Momentum Follows.

    • An! Thanks for the positive feedback – so glad you’re reading it. I took a quick look at your request today – I will write you an email about it later. But awesome job – I am so excited for you! That was a pretty big step, but it’s great to see that you are moving forward from where we both came from. And better off I must say 🙂

  1. Tara – Keep up the good work ! You helped remind me to keep everything in perspective and you inspire me to go after my dreams. Love your blog 🙂

    • Thanks Tami! I am glad you are enjoying it. Please, continue to follow and share with anyone you think would want to read it. As well, if you want to share any interesting stories about how you persevered, please share another comment!

Leave a Reply

