Transition Tip #1: Be Careful What You Wish For

Be careful what you set your heart upon – for it will surely be yours.
James Baldwin

You know your parents/friends/siblings/etc. have said it to you before. And it sounds so cliché and ridiculous since most people wish for things that will enhance their lives. Like more wealth, more things….

Well, I’m talking about those thoughts that you don’t even realize that you put out there. The ones that you have said over and over and didn’t realize that you were really wishing it. I learned a few weeks ago that you better be sure that what you put out there is something that you want because God will make it so. Don’t believe me? Try it. I dare you.

The reason that i’m in my transition mode is because I wanted to help people. I had planned to go back to school to become a life coach later this year. I had been on a journey for a few years that seemed to be providing no answers, that I kept trying to seek out what my purpose was and nothing seemed to come to me. Then it finally hit me a few months ago. I want to really help women achieve their possible. Life coach. Done.

So I kept thinking that I wanted the freedom that seems to come with creating the life you want. And what happened? My boss and I couldn’t come to an agreement about how that looks in a corporate environment, so the plan that was originally to provide me income on MY timeline was shot to hell. And everything was moved up a lot faster than I wanted.

But it was the best thing that could have ever happened to me. Yes, some days are good and some days suck major. But in the end, I have made more strides in following my dreams than I could have imagined if I continued to stay stuck!

So I learned that putting those dreams and ideas out there, telling your family and friends (and yes, dreaming and wishing subconsciously is putting them out there) will come true. If you’re berating yourself for making a mistake or telling yourself that you just aren’t good enough, it will definitely manifest. So I recommend that you spend your time on focusing on the good thoughts – and make sure that you really want your dreams. Because they’re coming. And I guarantee it won’t be in the way you plan. But it will manifest in the way you need.

Are you going through a forced transition or just want to share some thoughts? Please share on the comments! Would love to hear who else is going through something like redefining their life or starting their own business!

 

2 thoughts on “Transition Tip #1: Be Careful What You Wish For

  1. I can feel the truth in this article.

    Always keep in mind whose career it is. If it is your career, then you should be the one directing it. Do not give up that control to anyone.

    • Absolutely! It really took me a while to realize that my career was up to me and I am so glad that I took the steps that have brought me here. Taking control of my life is sooooo liberating. I can’t wait to see what’s next.
      I really appreciate you being my first commenter. Thanks for having my back 🙂

Leave a Reply

